| FORUM | ARCHIVE |                    | TOTAL QUIZ RESULT |

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome stranger, click here to read about some of the great benefits of registering for a free account with us and joining us in our global online community.

Left handed and right handed languages

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
pinguin View Drop Down
WorldHistoria Master
WorldHistoria Master

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pinguin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Left handed and right handed languages
    Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 05:00
I am a native Spanish speaker, as you know. So, when I started to learn new languages I make an amazing discovery: every single other language I studied had the Adjective and Nouns in the reverse order! Confused
I learned English, and I have studied some Japanese, Chinese and Mapudungun. I don't known many languages actually, but I know a lot, considering that people from the New World usually don't learn many languages Wink. Now all those languages had the Adjetive-Noun order "reversed". So, after a while I realize that perhaps Spanish was the one that had it in the reverse order and not the others Confused

I call this curious thing, "right handed" and "left handed" languages. My question is, how many left hand languages do exist, like Spanish, and how many left hand languages are there, like English, Japanese, Chinese and Mapudungun.

You guys that know more than me on European and other languages, please help me to answer this question.

Edited by pinguin - 27 Jun 2011 at 05:00
Sponsored Links

Al Jassas View Drop Down
King
King

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Al Jassas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 2011 at 07:19
Arabic is "left handed". Adjectives come after the noun in more than one form. an adjective in Arabic maybe a single word or an entire sentence.

Al-Jassas
Cezar View Drop Down